## COMMUNITY OF O'LEARY SPECIAL ELECTION MEETING NOVEMBER 5, 2012

Chairperson Nancy Wallace called the meeting to order at 7:15 pm with 84 residents and Administrator/Returning Officer Bev Shaw in attendance. Chairperson Wallace welcomed everyone to the meeting and advised that due to personal commitments she will not be re-offering for Council this election. Eric Gavin thanked Chair Wallace for her years of service and a round of applause was offered. Chairperson Wallace turned the meeting over to the Returning Officer.

Returning Officer advised the meeting that all electors are required to sign the register at the door; appointed scrutineers Heather Willis and Audrey Thomson; displayed the ballot box; and explained that one (1) chair position and six (6) council positions to be filled this election. Returning Officer Shaw also advised that a secret ballot vote would be held if more candidates are nominated than are required to fill the positions and if vote results in a tie that the names of the tied candidates would be placed in a box and the Returning Officer would draw the winner. Qualifications for electors and council members were read to the meeting.

Returning Officer opened the floor for nominations for the Chair position:

Moved by Nancy Wallace, seconded by Audrey Thomson that Dana Harris be nominated. Mr. Harris accepted.

Moved by Blake Adams, seconded by Denton Ellis that Stanley MacDonald be nominated. Mr. MacDonald accepted.

After calling three times for further nominations, nominations ceased.

Results of poll:

Dana Harris - 31 votes

Stanley MacDonald - 51 votes

Returning Officer declared Stanley MacDonald as successful candidate for the Council Chair position.

Returning Officer opened the floor for nominations for the six (6) council positions:

Moved by Orville Willis, seconded by Blake Adams that Marvin MacDonald be nominated. Mr. MacDonald accepted.

Moved by Stanley MacDonald, seconded by Alden Weeks that Blake Adams be nominated. Mr. Adams accepted.

Moved by Nancy Wallace, seconded by Watson Silliker that Donna Campbell be nominated. Mrs. Campbell declined the nomination.

Moved by Krista Adams, seconded by Tamara Currie that Darren MacKinnon be nominated. Mr. MacKinnon accepted.

Moved by Judy Milligan, seconded by Marvin MacDonald that Denton Ellis be nominated. Mr. Ellis accepted.

Moved by Eric Gavin, seconded by Jaron Harris that Davis Gallant be nominated. Mr. Gallant

accepted.

Moved by David Ferguson, seconded by Watson Silliker that Eric Gavin be nominated. Mr. Gavin accepted.

Moved by Audrey Thomson that Dana Harris be nominated. Mr. Harris declined the nomination.

Moved by Adrienne MacDonald, seconded by Wendy Adams that Carol Ferguson be nominated. Mrs. Ferguson accepted.

Moved by Linda Stetson, seconded by Nancy Wallace that Frances Dewar be nominated. Mr. Dewar accepted.

Moved by Carol Palmer, seconded by Dana Harris that Linda Stetson be nominated. Mrs. Stetson accepted.

After called three times for further nominations, nominations ceased.

Results of poll:

Blake Adams - 53 votes

Frances Dewar - 26 votes

Denton Ellis - 36 votes

Carol Ferguson - 55 votes

Davis Gallant - 47 votes

Eric Gavin - 49 votes

Marvin MacDonald - 53 votes

Darren MacKinnon - 59 votes

Linda Stetson - 19 votes

Returning Officer declared the successful candidates - Blake Adams, Carol Ferguson, Davis Gallant, Eric Gavin, Marvin MacDonald and Darren MacKinnon.

Meeting adjourned at approximately 9:55 pm.